Knee Injury Advice

A friend of mine has recently taken up running aiming for a marathon at the end of the year. He is a fairly fit guy having played lots of sport for many years but is suffering at the start of runs with a painful inner knee.

It has been just the one knee (right) so far although today's run affected the other knee (left). He finds it painful for the first 5 minutes or so and he adjusts his stride to lessen the pain. Once he is five minutes in to the run he feels ok but is worried that he may be doing some damage and is wary of increasing his mileage as a result.

I have no experience on this and wondered if anyone else had heard or felt this when starting out running?

Comments

• I have never personally had this running although I did attend a physio last year for a knee problem which was caused by a weaking of my quads! 2 of the muscles were weaker than the other 2 caused by a football injury.  Because I didnt work on this and strengthing it, the muscles weakend and started pulling my knee cap very slightly out of place and caused a rubbing pain on my knee.  It felt like bone on bone and wasnt pretty... It eased off if I went running though as I was working the muscles harder and making them work which pulled it back into place

Im not sure if this is a similar injury but it very well might be, if your friend finds that his knee weakens after walking for about 30-45 minutes and he starts feeling like he has a slight limp then it could be.... cross trainer is a good help for this one! Oh and my pain was my left knee

• I have just read the previous post and this is my first on the forum. I have been reading all of the knee related injury topics with interest but this one seemed to be identical to mine.