Post appendicitis - how soon can I run?

My training for the Berlin marathon was well on track, then I got an acute bout of appendicitis about 2 weeks ago. I've had the blighter removed, but my surgeon says I won't be able to run for four weeks after the surgery, which means I'll only have four weeks then before the marathon. He also says that it will be three times as hard to run it than normal because of the surgery.

My question is - what are other people's experiences of running after having their appendix removed? I had keyhole surgery and am walking completely normally. How soon can I get back into my trainers?

Comments

• I am a surgeon and a runner, I've removed about 60 appendixes myself in the last year, by key hole.

The point of doing the operation by key hole is so that you can get back to normal quicker. However every case of appendicitis is different, and the infection itself can take as much out of you as running the marathon, depending on how much comtamination there was, if you didn't have any further antibiotics after the surgery, then it was just inflamed which means you're very unlikely to have any further problems from the infection side, and running effect that.

The other issue is the surgery, where they put the cuts. Usually after keyhole appendix operations you will have a longer cut at the tummy button and 2 smaller ones lower down. The main risk from running is developing a hernia at the longer cut. This is more likely after straining or lifting heavy things which would increase the pressure, but port site hernias are very rare, I've seen about 3 in the last 5 years, none of which were from Appendix surgery, and they are much more common in fat patients or diabetics.

If it was me, I would certainly avoid swimming, don't want to get an infection in the wound. I'd start back walking, and when that doesn't hurt at all, slowly go back to running, I'm sure that would be in less than 4 weeks.