So hacked off!

My friend and I started training in October and by mid December we could run 5k fairly comfortably then, due to situations beyond our control, we had to stop training for a bit.  We started again this week expecting to be able to run for at least 15 mins but were shocked to discover we had lost almost all the fitness we had built up.

We have had to go back to week 3 of the RW 5K beginners programme and even that is a bit of a struggle.

We had originally planned to do a 10k in May but that seems very unlikely now, will probably powerwalk at best.

Is this common and will we ever get our fitness back?

Comments

• You will probably find you get your fitness back quicker than you gained it first time around.

Welcome back and don't be despondent.

• shes right

Piggy, your tail moves!

• I notice the difference if I have a week off so don't beat yourself up if you've had trouble getting back into it. I seem to get back into it quite quickly.
  • I had 16 days off spending 6 of them skiing and was HM fit b4 and am now struggling to do 5 miles.  I'm sure it will come back, don't get fed up, I'm trying to be positiveimage
  • Dippy, please don't worry!

Everyone has dips in training and fitness - it arguably gets easier to return to previous form the more experienced you are, but you will get back there.

I reckon you could still manage that 10K, y'know.  May's still a while off.

Pig is right - you'll probably find that your fitness improves more quickly this time round, because you're covering ground you've already done in the past.

Take it slowly, steadily, stay positive and stick at it.  You'll get there.

Keep us updated with progress! image

• You will get it back, it's amazing (not in a good wayimage) how quickly you can lose fitness - I couldn't get out over half term and was knackered first run when the schools were back.