emergancy marathon training

Hi

I could do with some advise please. I have been running for 3 years completed 5 marathons and have a place for london this year. Nearly 4 weeks ago I pulled/tore a ligament in my ankle so have not run since then.  I am under the physio who thinks Im about another week off being fixed. I was going to go for 3.45 (best 3.52) and relise that is gone, however London is London so thoughts about if I should run and if so some sort of prog would be great. I have always used the FIRST system so only run 3 times a week .

thanks

Comments

• I would defer to be honest. You'll be struggling round - and thats not gonna be the same as running your 3.52 is it ?
  • I'm nowhere near your pace or experience, but had a similar problem last year (missed 10 weeks of running and endured mindless hours on exercise bike).  My physio advised me not to make any decisions about deferring until I was back running again and knew how I felt. 

If you're after a fast time, I guess you'll defer.  If you just want to run London, and don't mind a slower time, then hang in there a bit longer. If its your first London, then maybe the experience is worth it regardless of the time (I thought so).

Good luck with the recovery.

• It depends upon how much fitness you have lost and how fit you were before the injury.

Running Coach Jack Daniels quotes some specific numbers in his book Daniel’s Running Formula

http://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=runadvandnew-20&l=ur2&o=1

“. He are some sample values in the loss of cardio-vascular fitness from his book:
    Up to 5 days — no loss
    7 days off — 0.6%
    14 days off — 2.7%
    21 days off — 4.8%
    28 days off (one month) — 6.9%
    56 days (two months) — 15.3%