Should I run London?

Im supposed to be running the London Marathon this year, its my first marathon (im 40 years old) All was going to plan, I started training in November last year, and was  doing runs upto 15 miles in Feb, then I got injured. I strained my abductor muscle, and its meant that at a critical time in my training ive been laid up. I havent been able to do anything for nearly 4 weeks, but Im going for my first run back tomorrow. Should that go ok, should i contenplate still running the marathon, or is the missed training wrecked my chances? thoughts please.....Thanks Steve

Comments

• How much had you done before?
  • I was upto around 35 miles a week, with 1 long run of 15m
  • I am no expert.....running London as my first and my training is not exactly a recommended way of doing it (from nothing to 7 -- 13 -- 12 --- 20)

I suspect it depends on your base fitness and what you want to achieve from it

They say that if you can run 16, you can get round

If you are out to run it, with a time target, then you probably need to forget it.  If you want to go out there to get round and enjoy the occassion, then you could think about run/walking it, taking your time and enjoying the party.  Certainly I wouldnt leap straight in from being injured to doing a 20miler to catch up with a training plan.  If you are on a ballot place, you can always defer and train for next year.  If you are on a charity place, I am not sure if you can defer

Sure someone better qualified and experienced will be along to answer soon

• You should still be able to get round but as Barking says, probably best to forget any time you had in mind and  just enjoy it - there will be lots of others in the same boat.

With reference to deferring - you can if you have your own place but not if you have a charity place.

Good luck!

SP