Progressing too quickly?

I've never been a runner until 2/3 weeks ago since I started training for a 10K I've entered myself for. I started off at a pathetic 0.6miles until I was knackered. Until I began breathing properly, taking water with me and pacing myself... singing along to my iPod to make sure I'm not too out of breath hence not overdoing it. The thing is, I'm progressing too quickly. This week I've gone from doing 3.3miles to 5.6 to 7.5miles within a few days. I'm not injured from it but is this just too quick and will I hit a wall?

Also, what is the most ideal routine for running? Would every other day or one day running two days rest have a negative effect on my running fitness?

Thanks!

Comments

• you wont hit a wall

You have progressed too quickly but you might get away with it

Look at the training guides at the top of the page to see how progression should be and to give you an idea of training schedules

Rest days will not have a negative effect on your running,  quite the opposite
  • You seem to have the running bug but dont overdo it the increases in milage you have taken on are far in excess as to what is recommended,you should increase the length of your runs very gradually.

As to running days whatever is good for you 3 4 5 days a week but if you run two days in a row do not follow one hard session with another.

Good luck with your 10k,when is it.

jimma image

• I guess you're generally pretty healthy & strong so your fitness to run may well improve quickly.  But don't get too carried away - be prepared to hit a plateau.  And when you do, don't think that you can just train harder to keep improving - that's just when you're most at risk of injury as you'll be near the limit of what your body's up to.  That's when you'll need to be smart and patient.

"Listen to your body" is a saying you might have come across - it's a good one.  Ignore it at your peril.