New York Marathon 2009

Comments

• What mess L'a? Everything looks tidy to me image

• Hi Everyone.

I've been lucky to get a ballot place for the NYM 2009 on my second attemp. I've been running for a couple of years now. I'm gradually getting faster but still enjoying it which is perhaps more important. I've just "done" London and found it tougher than I thought i would in 3:24. I've also ran the Berlin marathon in 2008 in 3:16.... so my target for NY - whether realistic or not - is 2:59:59.

I've been looking through the forum which has given me a bit of insight in to what i have to expect at the NYM. I'm looking around for budget (but hopefully not low quality) hotels. The issue of transport and the time we set off for the start is something that comes up quite a bit....I'm definetly staying in Manhattan so there's no getting around it. What do you do with yourself if you're at the start area by 7am with over two hours to kill??

• Welcome! You are super fast. 7am? You should be so lucky. Try nearer to 5 am with 5 hours to kill. Seriously though, you just find a spot, sit down and wait it out. I took a few magazines and got chatting to some American runners so the time went quite quickly. There were plenty of people with sleeping bags which is a good idea as it was mighty cold until the sun came up. There are tents but as someone already mentioned, they have no sides and if it rains then there’s no way everyone would fit in them. I ‘borrowed’ a blanket from BA but at one point I had my spare trousers wrapped around my head and neck to keep warm. Take some old clothes that you don’t mind throwing away as based on my experience of the baggage drop off (it was a disaster in 2007) you should allow plenty of time between dropping off your bag and starting the race.