Options

sports massage how many should you have in a year

hello there people  i have just booked my first sports massage and feel i should of got one long ago just wanted to know how often should you get one i run five times a week and one long run anything from 14- 20 miles and my weekly mileage is about 40- 45 miles a week any advice from the more elite runners out there or any one that could help many thanks

Comments

• Options
    I dont have any - its up to the individual.
  • Options
    Never had one, just seems like unneccessary expense - although I am a poor student so maybe that has something to do with it image
  • Options
    NjordNjord ✭✭✭

How deep are your pockets?

I get about a dozen a year.  I try to get one every six weeks or so if the legs feel ok (injury prevention), or every 2 to 3 weeks if I'm suffering from muscle knots or tightness.

If funds were limitless, once or twice a week would be good!  A good sports therapist/masseur can provide invaluble information about any muscular imbalances you might have and give advice on strengthening and stretching.  I'd rather give my money to a sports therapist before I get injured, than to a physio afterwards!

• Options
    thanks for the advice i think i will try one and see what its like o by the way dose anyone know how soon can you run after one thanks
  • Options
    NjordNjord ✭✭✭

It depends how hard the muscles have been worked.  I wouldn't want to do much more than easy-paced running for 24 hours after a deep tissue massage.

• Options

hi.