Speedwork

I have been running for around 2 years and am ashamed to admit that i haven't done any speed work. I have just been concentrating on endurance and distance. Done half mara and going to do a full marathon next year.

I want to improve my times so i need to include some speedwork - this may be a silly question but here goes - i do all my runs early in the morning. would it be better to do speedwork later in the day or doesnt it make a difference? I am a 'expresso and out of the door without eating' early morning runner except on a LSR when i force one weetabix down.

Ta very much.

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

You'll have to find out what works best for you.

I'd start with trying it early in the day if that's what suits you for your other runs.

If you find it too hard, or that it's really tiring, then try having a go at it later in the day and see if it makes any difference.

• What does your weekly schedule look like? What are some of your PBs?
  • I am not sure the relevance of the PBs?

If i am not training for a race and therefore on a plan - i tend to do 5miles  three or four times a week with a 10-12 mile LSR at the weekend. hence the need for speedwork!

As Wilkie suggests i think i will just give the mornings a go and see how i feel image

• have a look at some schedules on RW website (the garmin ready ones are pretty decent), and get some idea of the sessions you'll need to be doing for half and full maras.  i'm straight out of bed, cereal and coffee gobbled down, then on my bike to work before putting in my running training.  it really works for me and keeps me alert and fresh.  i'm sure once you get into a routine it will be fine. the only thing i'd say is warm up properly, your muscles need warming up from a good nights rest. 
  • Just as a reinforcement of the above comment: