Hills!

I know that hills have been covered almost as much as "which shoe should I buy" but despite trawling the past threads i can't find an answer to my problem.

I've been running for around 8 years or so with a few months off here and there.

I'm not competitive and don't profess to be a particularly good or fast runner. However I feel I'm fit and strong enough to be able to enjoy running without it being too painful?! I've done London (2003) a half marathon (1h 50) and several 10k's (47-50mins)

I've always had the same problem which is hills! I just can't seem to do em! But lately it seems a lot worse to the point of de motivation!

I can run for miles on a flat course with perhaps one slight or very short hill but despite feeling great and running comfortably I become exhausted almost immediately when I try a reasonable hill. My legs seem to drain of all strength and I am fighting to keep going stright away. I often don't get to the top without walking or even having to stop!

The energy drain is wierd as it's almost instant and total! I have often though about seeing a doctor, it's THAT bad! Sometimes the hill is not even a real hill, just a slight upwards gradient but the result is the same "instant energy drain"!!! Anything other than flat or down hill has the same effect in varying degrees.

I moved last year from a very flat area to a very hilly (to me) area in Derbyshire and I have struggled in the last few months to find a flat(ish) course that also avoids the main A6 road and all the car fumes.

There's lots of nice country roads and foot paths but they all involve hills, hills that I simply cannot get up without walking, often for most of the hill and with little energy left afterwards.

Am I missing something? Is it just me? Is this common? I don't just mean I find them hard work, I mean I find them almost impossible!!!