Just Started

I'm completely new to running but I'm really enjoying it. I'm running 4/5 times per week at my local gym on the treadmill for 30 mins running 4km each session. I'm daring to venture out for my first 'real' run at the weekend!

I have set myself a goal to run a 10k race in February but I'm not sure whether this is too early? How do I train for a 10K?

Although I've only been running for 3 weeks I can already see a difference in my shape, my clothes feel baggier especially around the backs of my legs and bottom! But more importantly, I feel I have so much more energy and I actually enjoy getting up at 5.45am to go to the gym (How sad!!)

Cat

Comments

• Enjoy
    Youll be fine for february if you keep training like this
    good luck, let us know how you get on:)
  • Catherine

Great start. I've never run on a treadmill but people who started off indoors have said it took them a couple of runs to get used to outdoors - mainly because the air moves and your pace tends to vary slightly (the reason for saying this is, if it happens to you, don't worry it's totally normal - if it doesn't ignore me!)

4km 4or5 times a week is on the heavier side of training for a start up so if you start to feel tired you might want to vary your pattern a bit in time (maybe dropping one but making one of the others slightly longer some weeks).

With your work so far and obvious commitment & enthusiasm I can't see any problem with 10k in February - book it now (it'll give you something to focus on)

Good Luck
  • Hi Cat and welcome! sounds like you're off to a flying start. I hope you have a great run at the weekend - running outside is in some ways easier than a treadmill because there's so much to look at (including lots of puddles if the weather holds up). Let us know how it goes!
  • Wel done, welcome to the world of the obssessed, ( many s's?)