Training for 10K

I have been running now for over 4 months and now can run the magic 10k without stopping. But how many miles a week should you do? I do about 10 -12 ( i feel thats not alot) but swim 50 lengths a week.

Today I ran a easy two mile but it was really hard I had to stop a couple of times!! is this because I swam the day before - help I'm really confused 

Comments

• Hi Martin,

Are you training for a race or just for fitness?  If you are new to running you seem to be doing OK by taking it easy to avoid injury and getting your base fitness.  Your run today could be down to lack of energy, are you taking in enough carbs.  If you gradually increase your mileage in line with what you are aiming to achieve, ie if you are training specifically for a 10k you could aim to run 8 to 10 miles comfortably with a couple of shorter but quicker runs during the week along with your swimming.

• Hi Barry

Thanks for the advice. I'm trainig for both really I'm hoping to do a few 10k's then move upto the half marathon. I have just startd to read up on the carbs diet. hard to understand but I do know how impostant it is. I'm resting today and try a 5k tomorrow. Cheers

• You should definitely be aiming to up your mileage and that should happen fairly naturally as you get fitter. I ran my first 10k off a similar weekly training load to you, perhaps a little more. I was typically doing 3 runs of circa 5 miles as hard as i could cope with and that got me through my first attempt but it was not a terribly scientific or sustainable approach.

I would personally recommend training with a heart rate monitor as that will help give you an idea of when you are fatigued from your cross-training and when you need a rest. Curiously its often pretty hard to tell if you are knackered simply based on how you feel and some objective measure helps.