The 'Experts' view???

I have just started running (well about 2 months now) and feeling good about my progression. I love reading runners world online and in the bath (the paper version of course)

One 'Expert' in RW this month said that running 3 times/week for 30minutes will just maintain fitness.

Now for a beginner that sort of statement is quite a putoff and counter intuitive. So could someone please explain? I am 17 stone and 39. I am now running intervals for around 30mins 3 times a week and not only enjoying it but also feeling that I am improving both in performance and in fitness. Surely this must be improving my fitness compared with no running at all? If you want to encourage people to get fit, then might I suggest experts moderate or qualify their comments especially in a magizine that is targeted at all levels of runners.

Wayne

My Running Blog

Comments

• Hi
    I'm not an expert, but I think they mean that once you're in a regular routine, after a few months if you don't start increasing your distance or your speed, you will eventually reach a sort of plateau where you don't improve any more.  I have experienced that myself, where for months I just go out and do the same distance every week, but adding an extra mile to my weekly distance each week or adding in some hills brings in the fitness benefits.
  • No expert - On week 8 of the couch to 5k from coolrunning....

But Vicky is probably right. Certainly my fitness is still improving. Well at the start running for 60 seconds was a challenge. Running is still a challenge, but it was for 28 minutes this evening image. So if you are like me, then yes your fitness will still be improving. 

3 x 30 min is a goverment recommendation iirc from some time back for maintaining a healthy lifestyle, so I guess he would be marking that as a good point to reach and maintain.