I want to go slowww

I'm a beginner runner..currently doing a couch potato to 5K (Week 4). Now I know that one of my problems and it is for a lot of beginners is running too fast, but I dont seem to have a gear between a brisk walk and a jog.

According to my Garmin, my brisk walking pace, my warmup is around 15min/mi. But when I jog, I find I am pacing around 9.10-9.30 min/mi If I try to slow down I either by reducing my stride time, or taking smaller steps it feels well odd...walking my feet are both on the ground, jogging I seem to bounce...

any thoughts or advice?

Wayne

Comments

• OK this is probably gonna sound stupid and staringly obvious but you know when you're doing your brisk walk... Just go a little bit faster so you can no longer walk and voila a slow run pace.  When I'm doing my LSR (long slow run) it does feel like a walking pace when in actual fact its about 11:30min mile.  It's that tipping point from walking to running that you're looking for. 

Well done on your progress so far. image

• Blimey, 9.10 - 9:30 is a hell of a jog, looks like you are going to kick ass in a 5k!!!!

The key is smaller strides, it may feel odd to start with, but you'll get used to it.

• I'm out again tomorrow, so I will try working with smaller strides. It might also be a case of I'm only doing intervals, so my comfortable pace over 5min is going to be possibly different and less up/down than averaged over a longer period... Does anyone know how accurate GPS watches are in terms of pace etc etc?? Garmin 405

My feeling of going too fast is based on the adage about being able to have a conversation whilst jogging... Brisk walk...no problem Jogging.... difficult. I also seem to be timing my breathing to my pace breath in step step step.....breath out for 3 steps etc etc. Still I'll have a play tomorrow and post the results.

Wayne

• Wayne  -I started on the C25k program myself, and I was running at about 9.30 too.