Considering the switch to tri

Comments

• Right okay. Any Leeds folk who know where I can get some tips? I'll start googling again!

The expense is a major concern  be honest. When I commit to something generally, I'm willing to putin as much of my time and effort as possible. Money though, being a student, it not naturally forthcoming. I'd love it to be, but thems the breaks. I'd initially said I'd wait till I graduated to jump into Tri, but if I can scrape through now, I'm sure it will make me appreciate all the nice things I can buy much more, when the time comes that I'm actually earning!

• Leeds and Bradford Tri - really friendly club. I'm in york and a member of LBT.

LBT 

• Cancel you gym membership that will save you loads. Join you local masters swim group as it is likely to be cheaper and will have coaches there. Then use Gods gym. Outdoors.

Goodluck with it.
  • I'm afraid I'm contracted with the gym for another 6 months. image

And you're right, it will save me a fair packet! Aside from that, I also have the Uni gym, which soon will boast a pool of its own. 

As for LBT, looks good. Might have to get my backside down to join... eeeee this is exciting!

• "Maths says 80 lengths is about 1.2 miles"

you're an engineer and you're working in Imperial?????? how bizarre..

I was taught in Imperial but work in metric
  • I'm an engineer and I was raised with metric. As the Ironman seems to be more Imperial based, I decided to convert to Imperial.

I'm a mixed up soul, really.  image

• "As the Ironman seems to be more Imperial based,"

errrrm - it's not..

it's a 3800m swim, 180km bike, 42.2km run - OK the run is converted from a 26mile 365yd marathon but the other 2 are clearly metric
  • I'm sorry. I'm new to this, as must be clear. image I was always familiar with 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, and a marathon. Like here and here and here. Is this not the case for official distances?