outdoor running

Hello everyone. I have been running for 2 years now. During that time I have built up my speed and distance so that I can now comfortably do 10k in just under an hour. Because I am a student and have a lot of free time during the summer months I have been making the most of it by going for runs outside in the surrounding countryside around 3-4 times a week. It has been great fun planning different routes and since I started doing it back in june I have made so much progress!

Now here comes the problem...I am moving back to uni later this month and will be living in a part of Birmingham that I currently don't know very well. Also, the nights are drawing in so there will be less daylight hours. I have really started to enjoy running in the great outdoors but am worried about how I will be able to continue once I am back at uni and dread going back to the treadmill full time.

Therefore I am wandering how other people overcome similar barriers and if anyone has any suggestions?

Thank you!

Comments

• I am sure at Uni you will find other people who run or a club to join?
  • Hmm. In winter I normally stick to routes that go along the main roads so that there are always streetlights and plenty of people around.

It's difficult though if you dont know the area. I think you just need to go and explore the area a little. Carry your phone and personal alarm. Find someone to run with.

Try treadmills instead if you dont feel comfortable?

• Unfortunately my uni doesn't have an athletics club which I was quite dissappointed about when I started last year. I have considered joining a local club instead but am worried about how good you have to be or the level of committment they expect as my course is quite demanding.

I would love a running partner but don't know how to get one!