Sunday Selection

123457»

Comments

• During the summer, we had some Quaker style meetings run by one of the young people from the church at their home.

There was some reading matter, some paper and pens, and a few things to look at or to hold, so that you did not just have to be still and quiet. In theory, you did not just have to be quiet anyway, if suitably moved then singing or saying or reading something out loud would have been acceptable, but nobody broke the silence, well not intentionally anyway.

I found that each time was different.

Afterwards, we shook hands, had a drink, and maybe shared something of what had occurred to us during the hour.

• My meeting is a fairly quiet one - I am a relative newbie to this particular meeting and am reminding them that there are different flavours of Quakers - even ones who do speak in ministry image
  • Extroverts? or Prophets?

Or just twisted fire starters?

• Our church is doing a bit of a thing to try to get back some of the old regulars (or people who only attend once a month or once a fortnight) to come back to going each Sunday. I'd know more about it if I'd actually been IN the place more in recent weeks!

A friend said she might target ME, as I have been missing a lot recently!image I think she was joking, but when I actually thought about it, I have missed an awful lot of Sundays recently - some because of races and many because I've been away on holiday and attending far flung family weddings over the summer.

Not one of the days I might have been at church have I missed, but it does make you wonder if people do judge you if your bum isn't on that seat on a Sunday morning. And none of them understand running.....image

If I turn up in running kit because I'm doing an LSR afterwards they stare like I'm in fancy dress!image

• "Extroverts? or Prophets?

Or just twisted fire starters?"

LOL! Probably all of the above image
  • if i could choose
    i would be a quaker