HR training - Getting Started

Hi,

I'm was wondering if any experienced runners could offer a little advice.

I have been running for nearly two years now, and after several 10k's and three half's I've decided to take the plunge and do a marathon next year. I have targeted Edinburgh at the end of May 2010.

My plan was to do some base training building up lots of slow miles until Jan 2010 (with one speed/internval session per week), and then follow a 16-18week specific marathon training programme after that. Currently I run about 25 miles per week. I'm hoping to build up to around 40 miles per week.

With this in mind, I have a brand spanky new Garmin 405 with heart rate monitor. I think I have sorted out my resting rate, it seems to "bottom out" at about 49, but I'm struggling with the max rate. I have done three minute runs (3 x 3mins when warmed up with jogging in between), as fast as I can, but the highest I can measure my heart rate is 175.

I know absolutely nothing about HR training, but all the stuff I've read talks about max rates around 200 bpm.

Also, if I then run at say 65% of my working heart rate this is at about 130bpm. Again, this seems a bit low?

My usual running pace is about 9 - 9.5min miles, and during the 3 minute runs, my average pace was 6.5 min miles.

Apologies for long ramble, but my basic question is should I train to 130 bpm, or try again to test my max rate - perhaps I could have pushed myself harder - although it felt flat out image

Help!!

Comments

• Your max test might not have been terribly effective. Try doing it again but up a hill this time and after you have done your 3 reps, do another image

My max comes from a really hard 5k race effort rather than a test as i do find myself switching off and not pushing hard enough without an additional incentive. 

Dont worry if it is as low as 175 though. There are various rules of thumb for what it 'ought' to be but everyone is different.