40 year old Virgin seeks advice & technique

Six years of fumbling about & I'm ready to go the distance!

I must be lucky or something. Never done a Marathon & applied for London next year and only got a place. This is probably going over old ground, but as I have never done a marathon before, I'm not sure what my estimated time would be/training plan to follow. Sure enough there are race time predictors, but how can you predict something you have never done? Half marathon PB of 1.25.26 this year. Is having marathon experience reflective of predicted time?

Just got a couple of other simple questions:

When is the best time to try & find accommodation - any advice on places/costs?
Never done weights before, just running - is it a good idea to build add this to the training?

Comments

• You are probably looking at a shade over 3 hours - close enough that you might decide to have a crack at sub 3 - though the risk is you end up blowing up and getting a slower time than you otherwise might. 

Weights tend to divide people as to whether they are useful or not - personally irrespective of whether I thought they can help some distance runners - I wouldn't add weights into the programme if you've never done them before.  Additional risk of injury as they are new to you and as you'll be upping your mileage adding weights too might be too much of an increase in training load in too short a space of time. 

When I did London I stayed at my brother's place in Bermondsey - it was no hassle getting across London on the tube so if you can't get somewhere close to the start just get somewhere a convenient tube ride away.