Would you humour me and have a read?

*before I start - yes, i have an appointment with my GP tomorrow and am hoping for a referral to someone who might know something, but I know that could take months sooo........any advice or thoughts gratefully received!*

Okay. Brief history - last spring I developed PF. Had 3 months off, saw a podiatrist, got some orthotics, got it back to a manageable state and started running (ha! Run/walking) from scratch again.

Got myself back into regular running (not loads, I'm still a beginner, doing maybe 15 miles a week at most). Was training for my 10k back in August and ouch! Had weird knee pain running down a hill. It passed fairly quickly but in the mornings, and when I stand up at work and set off anywhere, I got a strange pain at the top of my knee/up the front of my thigh. 

This pain has persisted now for 3 months. It usually wears off when I walk for 30 seconds or so. Sometimes it feels like it is more on the outside of my thigh, but mostly it's the front, above my knee and up my thigh. (although the pain I have had when actually running was definitely *in* my knee..). 

A few times I have thought it's gone, have been pain free for days, then I walk the dog or try a very light run (like a fortnight ago when I literally ran for 100 metres during a dog walk!). The next morning it's there again. One annoyed leg!

Does this sound even vaguely familiar to anyone?

One thought I did have - the orthotics. Is it possible that wearing them (all thie time, all shoes, including running) has knackered my perfectly good knee?? I do still have a bit of PF - it aches a little most days. Had my running shoes fitted and checked at a reputable running shop, by the way!

Any ideas at all?

xxx

Comments