XC virgin needs advice

Ok so I am new to running did race for life 5k in May (34 mins) and then last sunday Tidworth 10k (1.10mins) and I run a few times a week road/woods/tracks around 5-7k most times.

I have found a XC Xmas run on Dec 6th one lap 8.5k says it has ditches and course is undulating, my question is having never entered a specific xc event before is that a generous way to describe a really hard core course? will I be totally out of my depth or is xc just another word for off road?...

Sorry if this is a daft question but am really not down with the runnng lingo etc yet and don't want to enter an event that I'm not going to be able to finish. Don't care about getting muddy or wet am used to it as I have horses!

This is the race - http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/events/viewevent.asp?sp=&v=2&EN=51323

Comments

• Go for it Chlobo - whats to be afraid of?  These type of races usually attract a huge range of abilities from elite racing snakes to "fun runners".  It will be muddy and hilly but probably great fun.  Just run it as you feel on the day - at these type of events you will be slower than you are on the road - but so will everyone else.  I'm not sure what you mean by "hard core".  One mans "hardcore" is another mans "easy" - it will be off road on mud (need good grippy shoes), through ditches (probably with water in) and with hills (I haven't looked at the actual event but do a lot of fell/trail/XC races.  I don't think you will need to worry about not finishing or being out of your depth - you'll love it! 
  • Just looked at the event - the results of last years event were between 31 mins - winner and 68 mins - final person - so really you will not be alone!  It's only 5.3 miles........... go on........... you know you want to.........image
  • PiersPiers ✭✭✭

Oh I know this race and it's one of my favourites.