Marathon times?

Hi

Can anyone tell me what a good marathon time is for a total beginner. I have only just managed to run an half marathon distance and was difficult. I would love to do the full marathon but need an idea about times.

Thanks Julie

Comments

• I would say four hours or so would be a good time - others may disagree. If you take your half time and add 20 mins or so - you should be able to do that for the full marathon. Ish.

• How long is a piece of string?  I was very pleased to go under 4 hours for my first marathon.  Other people would be delighted with 5 hours.  I suggest you don't worry too much about the time for your first one.
  • cougie - I am still trying to get a good time then lol.

Julie -  Have you got a marathon in mind? It is not easy to get into London marathon unless you can raise lots of money for charity or get a good for age place. There are lots of lovely marathons out there to do and remember your first marathon will be a PB image 

• I personally think the benchmark is 4 hours, anything under that is good, solid running. 
  • I think I read that four hours is round about the most popular finishing time - my definition of good may not tie in with anyone elses though.

I'd just enjoy the race though - its a looong way and just finishing is really good !
  • Julie, you have my admiration for even thinking about doing it. Take it easy and don't kill yourself. Make sure you train enough to get you round, and remember that it's supposed to be fun!
  • Julie

i really don't know the answer to that, i guess it would be what ever you deem a respectable time

but try and understand HM and FM - two different things

personally i think all these posts are right

and YES , it's all meant to be fun ""

good luck  

• ShinyShiny ✭✭✭
    cougie wrote (see)
    I would say four hours or so would be a good time - others may disagree. If you take your half time and add 20 mins or so - you should be able to do that for the full marathon. Ish.