Cadence

Just so I can get am idea (im new to Tri if you hadnt guessed/read my other posts).

What sort of legspeed / rpm so you aim to maintain on long rides / Ironman?

Is there more to it that this?

Comments

• I think its typically 80 - 100rpm that the books recommend. Although I don't actually measure this when I'm riding, and it would vary slightly depending on terrain.

If you want to get good at cycling - go and join a local bike club. Your bike handling will improve, you can follow their examples, and more incentive to get out for the long runs on a weekend.

You need a big base of steady miles before you can begin working on your speed.
  • I always aim for 90-95. This varies from person to person (look at the difference between Jan Ulrich and Lance Armstrong for example). Use your gears to try and maintain you most economical cadence whether you are popping down to the shops for a paper or cycling a 112 mile ironman leg.
  • I aim for 80-100 rpm.
    One thing you need to do is pedal at a high cadence (90+) in the last mile or so of the bike leg - this helps you run well straight out of transition. (If you arrive in transition heaving a big gear around you will plod out onto the run).
  • DazDaz ✭✭✭
    My best bike split was at a flat sprint-tri race where i went from top gear to second-top gear (yes, i dont know my gears!) and therefore alternating every several minutes between cadence of around 70 and 90.

well worked for me, ended up just over 2mins off stephen bayliss. although i did break a red light and get dq'd for my efforts :O(
    Endurance Coach @ DazCarterFitness.com
    Elite Ironman, Ultra Trail Runner
  • Daz, what ever happened to, 'it was amber officer...'?
  • DazDaz ✭✭✭
    chief!!! chief!! welcome!! like the pic!
    ha thats exactly what marianne said! you both on same wavelength!?