Return to fitness after injury

Hi all,

Just wanted to get some feedback/ideas on returning to fitness after injury. There obvioulsy more than one way to skin a cat but i wondering if theres..... a right/wrong or bad/better way to do things.

I'll give a quick run down of the situaton......

Ive been running for 15+ years and as of late have really been struggling to get a consistant batch of training. Injuries are mainly feet/ankles and a bit knees so i did start mixing it up with multiple terrain as i think the roads were starting to take there toll.

Was running well through november and managed to stick some good training around the xmas/new year period which had me coming out into January pretty much ready to race. 3 weeks in i tweaked my foot whilst running in the snowimage. Took 1 week off, tried it bit it was a litle niggley so decided to take another 2 just to make sure it was well n truly gone. Started retraining but my foot didnt feel right, i thought it maybe just needed using, loosening off but it only really got worse and after last sundays run i decided i'm going to take a break ( 6 weeks ) and hopefully start again injury free.

Now usually i'll build up mileage and keep the speed right down till i get fitter but i'm wondering if i should maybe curb the mileage a touch and get some faster stuff in there at an earlier date? The mileage is only around 75 through winter and usually 55-60 the rest of the year so it shouldn't be doing me any harm but...... i'm starting to think it might.

Sorry for the long windedness but any suggestions/ideas or even questions if ive left something out.

CheeRS

Comments

• MoraghanMoraghan ✭✭✭

At what point did you last have a 3 month stretch of training when you were uninjured?

What was your mileage during this period?

What % of your mileage was run at MP or quicker during this period?

What is the actual injury diagnosis?

How much non-running training do you do in an effort to prevent injury?