Best Triathlon For Beginner - Needing a Challenge

Evening

Ran the LM yesterday and need a new challenge (4,46)

I have  this ridiculous notion that a triathlon would be a great idea......

I was hoping for an autumn triathlon could anyone advise, is this to soon for a sprint tri, was thinking about tatton park, have car will travel

Any advice for a complete newbie most welcome, i dont think i could swim much more than 4 lengths without stopping

Comments

• Stratford do a great one in October I think. Well supported by pirates normally. Very well run and good value. Good prep for an ironman next summer! image
  • PSC - thanks for the tip, ironman next summer, very funny, next you will be telling me this triathlon business is addictive

i will check the website for stratford and get myself booked in, better do it before my misses finds out, i think she was expecting our weekends back together after marathon had finished.

October is quite a way away, do you think i should train for the sprint, or go for a super sprint seeing as its my first?

• Justin....I'm afraid that just by posting on here, you have committed yourself to doing an Ironman next year! As you may have seen there are one or two events that are very piratey and you WILL be going to one of them.....

Just consider yourself lucky that there isn't enough time to get you in one this summer!!!

Better get training......

• CJ - Based in Oundle near Peterborough, so location fairly central

Ratbag - training starting as soon as my legs feel like they are my own again, hopefully at the weekend, seems like im going to need it....... let the adventure begin

• I'd start with a local sprint tri, that way you won't feel fazed by the swimming. April to October is plenty of time to get used to the swimming. Distances vary but I've done sprint races that are 400m swims.

There are lots of pool-based tri's, not sure about ones in your area. Do a Google search or ask on here/Tri Talk.