Sore knees on long runs

Hope somebody can help me with this one. I have been running for a couple of years now with no real injuries (luckily),however on my last few long runs (15-16M) I have started to get very sore knees just under the kneecap. It feels like somebody is sticking a knife under my kneecap every time I take a stride. The soreness continues for a few days until my next long run. Any ideas ?

Comments

• The same thing has happened to me,also on a long run.I rested for a few days and the pain disappeared.my last long run of 22 miles went without any pain.I'm running the cardiff marathon next week and will purchase a knee support before then,perhaps you should consider the same.sorry i couldn't give you a more theoretical answer.
  • Could it be runner's knee? R.I.C.E method worked for me.
    I have weak knees too.
  • RedheadRedhead ✭✭✭
    Hi Beth, what's the R.I.C.E. method?
  • BarklesBarkles ✭✭✭
    Rest
    Ice
    Constriction
    Elevation

ie. Rest it, ice it, but only for a few minutes to prevent tissue damage, sit dowm and elevate to knee above the level of the hip to allow any fluid build up to drain!

I've heard later thinking that suggests a mixture of heat and cold when dealing with tissue damage. However it really depends on the nature of the damage. If it's cartilage or something else I don't know if this will work. Why not ice it for a bit, rest up and then try gentle runs, if it's still there, see a physio. Worth £20 to check things out in order to prevent longer term injury. Two weeks gentle now may save two months pain later. I'm not sure of the wisdom of running with knee supports unless you know what the problem is and whether you are making it worse.
    Learn fom Knackered Knees experience.
  • RedheadRedhead ✭✭✭