Am i in the wrong?

Ok im 26 i have been working in a shop doing a delivery job for the last 5 years im contracted 16 hours a week but 90% of the time untill christmas i was doing full time hours. Now i took myself down to 16 hours because i can claim housing benefit and go back to college and redo my gcses for a discounted price rather then pay nearly 1000 quid i would only have to pay 300.

So im being a cunt for claiming benefit to get cheaper college fees? Am i being lazy because i only work 16 hours so i can get a better education and with it a better job? That job is the most demoralisng shit in the world if i dont improve myself now i will never go anywere in life.

Comments

• no-absolutely not Mike. Some may claim that but IMHO to better yourself and make yourself more employable is a good thing. Your intention is not to stay on benefits for life etc.

good luck and don't let people put you off.

• no - anyone who thinks studying isn't hard work has almost certainly never studied and has no idea what they are on about.

You're making an effort to better yourself, to improve your situation and get yourself a better job in the future. That's not being lazy, that's looking to the future and making an effort to change the rut you're in. that takes courage and will power and is to be admired.

Look at it the other way, you're working as well as studying, so are working harder than some of your fellow students who are not putting in the hours outside college to help support themselves.

All the best with the studying - it can be hard going back to it after a break from education, stick with it.

• ClagClag ✭✭✭

Personally, I have a real problem with people who claim benefits and sit on their arse doing nothing! However, this is not what you're doing and I would happily support anyone who wishes to do something with their life (and will in turn give something back through their taxes etc) - good on you for making the effort to move on in life.