Advice

Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out with running. I work 4 days a week,am studying for a degree and have 3 kids,husband,house and countless animals to look after. I'm looking to run for basic cardio fitness and stress relief (which I need desperately right now!).I'm also planning on going to a yoga class and cycling to and from work once a week.

I'm am unfit and couldnt run to the top of the street with getting a stitch. Im hoping for some suggestions on how to build some training into my schedule.

Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• walk, run, walk, run.  Same again but a bit longer running.  And repeat.

But seriously google couch to 5k.  My other half is doing this for a race for life run and she is doing ok.

• james1982ajames1982a ✭✭✭
    Here's a good place to start
  • Im not sure of Race For Life gives a programme on its website?? It might not even be too late to contemplate a run/ walk programme and enter a RFL near you?? Honestly, there are loads of women who just walk the race, its a real fun day out, and no pressure.

Also keep a tab on the threads on the RW forum (ie here!), esp the Beginers section. You will find loads of other folk all in the same boat as yourself.

Good luck!!

(Edited due to my appalling spelling)

• Talulah73Talulah73 ✭✭✭

I started running 15 months ago and could only run for a minute.

I bought a book called "Running made easy" and followed the walk run plan from that but there are many internet plans. Just do not go too quick at the start as I did that 3 years ago and got shin splints and then gave up.

15 months later I just completed a half marathon 5 weeks ago and now run about 25 miles a week. I have cut back recently due to a knee injury but that has nothing to do with running ( I twisted it getting over a fence). I am doing the Bupa 10k next week.