Moraghan Training - Stevie G

Comments

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Hehe...that was some pot hunting gold last year Mee Meep! Although only 2nd obviously!

Today went ok. pb of 36:43, (20sec pb). Temperature was spot on, little bit windy early on but the 9th k was off road on pebbly paths, through the most exposed windy field ever! That k alone cost me 20-30seconds I reckon.

Did a couple of things I've never done before today, did my splits off the proper garmin rather than just a stopwatch, and did a proper warm up!! I'm admitting here that in 96 races I've only ever done a proper warm upnow once..ie longer than a token couple of hundred metres jog !

Therefore, 22min 2.5mile warm up. Time and space reduced the strides to 5x 20m rather than 5 x75...which I'll try and put right next race out tho. The warm up definitely took that horrible shock of the first mile away though! Even stopped me sprinting off stupidly fast like I used to.

Damm garmin  battery went after 8k, but splits as I recorded them and distance as below

(Obviously 1k is 0.62m so some are slightly out)

Split       Distance

3.36      0.64

3.35     0.60

3.41     0.63

3.37    0.62

3.35   0.60

4.03   0.65    (caught the split a little late and clearly slightly longer than 1k too)

3.32  0.62

3.42  0.62

There was a slight uphill in one of the slower k, but levelled itself out on the next k.

some maths shows that the last 2 k were run in 7:18, which is mostly down to the 9th k being a really unexpected pebbly offroad 1k, in a very very windy field!! Finished the 10th k strong, so as above can only imagine I lost a good 20-30secs in the 9th k.

The guy I pipped to the post has done a mid 35 not too long ago, so all in happy with the 36:43 i suppose!

At the finish felt pretty ok, not in any real fatigue. Passed 5k just over 18mins which is quite promising for the 5k series coming up.