Feeling Sick after running

Hi all, just signed up this morning. I'm fairly new to running, have been doing 5k once or twice a week, but just did the Glasgow Women's 10k last weekend in my best time yet of 63:51. I've signed up to do the half marathon in September and am needing to ramp up my training for this.

My main problem is that after the past 2 times I've been out (doing 5-6 miles) I've felt really sick after stopping. I also feel really cold, but this happens after any kind of running for me. Any advice to stop the sickness? Also, I usually get quite weary after around 3 miles, any tips for increasing endurance?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• What are you eating/drinking beforehand Fiona??  Have you been particularly hot when you've been running?  I felt sick the other week on my LSR which I've put down to the heat (it was a very warm day) and bad fuelling strategy, but I was running further so that might not be the case... Although my friend felt really sick after doing 5miles, again it was a warm day and I don't think she'd drank enough beforehand to compensate for the heat.
  • At the 10k on Sunday I had eaten a bowl of cereal and had some juice about 2 1/2 hours before, then only had a few sips of water during. Last night I went out after work and had snacked on fruit during the afternoon. Both times it was around an hour afterwards that I felt sick. Also, I had felt really thirsty during both runs but feel if I drink too much water during a run I can feel it swooshing around and that i turn makes me feel sick. Can't win can I?!
  • Hi Fiona,