Plantar Fascitis

Now then folks, any ideas, remedies, potions thats gonna help with a tweaky plantar? Its only just starting so i hipe if i get onto it early i may be able to stay training.... albeit short n sweet stuff until i'm back to 100%.

Anyone tried night splinting?

Cheers

Rob.

Comments

• Get a bottle of pop, fill it with water and freeze it. You can then use this to roll along the length of your plantar fascia using your body weight to massage and ice at the same time which should help. Wear a supportive shoe and rest it where possible.

Also, stretch it gently on a morning before getting out of bed as it tightens over night whilst sleeping and can re-tear each morning. If you have a night splint it could help but I don't know anyone who has used one.

• I've been struggling with a flare up of this (it had seemed to have gone until i started training).  I found a device called a Pediroller in the footcare section of Boots.  Basically it is a ridged bar which is thicker at both ends that you roll up and down with your foot (you can freeze it, but I haven't tried that yet).  I use it at home and at work and it really eases the pain.
  • I have been suffering from PF since 2008.  I first got rid with a steroid injection under ultra sound - that lastest a year.  When it came back I tried everything again only to have to get a 2nd injection, it lastest not so long - 3months.

I am now into my 3rd occurrance of the injury, its awful and I feel for you.

This time however I have stayed away from the deep massage- I found that it flared it up even more.

Icing - most of the time, made it more stiff and sore, I now find a combo of hot and cold soaks help it, always finishing on a hot soak.

Stretching is also helping this time but dont over stretch it as you can do some more damage.