Any old iron

I have been running for several years and have always been a blood donor, when I went to my usual session yesterday I was unable to donate as my haemoglobin (sp?) is too low.  This is the first time I ahve ever not been able to donate.  About 6 years ago when I was training hard I did always have results that were a bit borderline but not this low!  I have recently stepped up my training to try and bring down my 10k and half times and am also now swimming twice a week.  Does anyone know if increased exercise levels will increase iron needs?

So the real question is how do I get more iron into my diet?  it's not so low that I need to take a supplement and anyway I prefer to try and do these things without.  I am not a vegetarian and do try to eat a varied and healthy diet although will admit to slipping especially at weekends.  I usually get my 5 a day on week days, perhaps a bit less at weekends but it's usually fruit I eat less then rather than veg (I don't really like fruit much so eat small amounts to be good).

Thanks for any help and ideas!

Comments

• Fido2DogsFido2Dogs ✭✭✭

Could be just that your blood volume has gone up because of the training. So your haemoglobin density might go down when the absolute amount in your blood is the same.

If you feel fine then probably no need to worry.

Did they not give you a leaflet when your drop misbehaved? I got one a year or two ago, just said what I knew already viz:

• don't drink tea or coffee with meals or in the hour following (before is OK I think)
    • vitamin C helps iron absorption so e.g. drink O/J with meals 
  • I went to give blood recently and was told that sweating decreases iron. Also that running damages the red blood cells in the feet also leading to iron depletion.  I do take the preventative dose of iron tablets ( ferrous sulphate ) after GP recommended it but I am veggy so that may be why.