Advice Please

HillyHilly ✭✭✭
I know this isn't a running question, but I know there are those of you on the forum who have lots of bike experience. Can any of you cycle experts tell me why the inside of my right knee was sore after my 20 mile cycle ride today. I'm very new to cycling and have never suffered with any knee discomfort in all the years of running, so why after a cycle ride?

It's actually ok this evening but was uncomfortable for a few hours after the ride. Could it be something to do with my seating etc? Any advice appreciated.

I didn't think this thread warranted going on the injury forum as I'm sure it's not an injury.

Comments

• drewdrew ✭✭✭
    Apart for the obvious - did you hit it off the handlebars or top tube - a few thoughts:

From my own experience, when I was racing many moons ago, I would say that it is more likely a mechanical problem, otherwise the pain would be felt in both knees.

It may be your shoes/pedal combination. What type of shoes/pedals do you use?

Is your right crank or pedal bent?

Is one leg longer than the other?

Is the saddle on straight?

Have you done much cycling?

The main medical condition that arises in cyclists' knees is tendonitis - but not after 20 miles.

Hope this is of some use to you hilly
  • HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Thanks Drew,
    I know I didn't hit it on anything so that's ruled out. I do have a leg length discrepency with the right leg (knee with the pain) being longer than the left leg, so that's worth a thought.

No, I haven't done much cycling, I only took it up this summer to be able to take part in a triathlon, although I must say I enjoy it and plan to continue cycling as cross training. I've not cycled more than 25 miles in any one session.

I have not invested in a pair of cycling shoes as yet because of being so new to it, so I'm wearing a pair of running trainers when I cycle.