Travel Insurance - Marathon

Hi All,

I'm training for Berlin and thought about time I sorted travel insurance.

So far I've had two quotes - Neither of which cover marathons (From Columbus and Liverpool Victoria). Seems a bit silly to me - I bet us runners are in the group of people least likely to need to make a claim...being fit and healthy! Although I do see that there is a small element of risk in running a Marathon.

Can anyone recommend a Travel insurance provider who covers Marathons?

Thank you,

Simon.

Comments

• djwolfdjwolf ✭✭✭

http://www.jsinsurance.co.uk/travel_insurance/hazardous_activities/AUL/a.html

Athletics track events (incl long distance running) covered under normal travel policy under the hazardous activities section

• Direct Travel also covers marathon events.  I've been using them for ski & adventure cover for a few years.  Their customer service is top-notch.  I haven't claimed, but I know people who have.  They even paid out when that volcano kicked off.
  • Wow, 4 replies within ½ hr, I'm impressed.

Thanks muchly all for the suggestions, I'll get some quotes tommorow.
  • I have an annual policy with Fortis through Swinton. When I asked them to check if I was covered for the Paris marathon the girl on the phone went to find out and came back with 'are you likely to win it?'. When I'd stopped laughing and assured her I wouldn't unless 10,000 people took a wrong turn, she said 'well, that's all right then'. So I think 'recreational' running is OK, as long as you're not an elite, which would be different.
  • Must say I've never given it a thought.  I have travel insurance through my bank which I use for all my trips, racing or otherwise. 

If it's for Berlin (which I'm doing too) wouldn't a European Health Insurance card cover any medical help you need while you're out there?

• WombleWomble ✭✭✭