Setting realistic goals

As someone who has only recently started to take running a bit more seriously I am full of enthusiasm for running. I want to go out and run faster and further as each week passes. As I develop an understanding of what I might be capable of I am starting to plan goals to aim at. I have short and medium term goals in mind, nothing concrete yet as I am still new to this. What I want to know is how do others on here go about setting realistic goals for themselves? What techniques do you employ to identify your goal? Is it finger in the air? Gut instinct? Round your target time down to the nearest minute? Or are there specific methodologies out there that help people set realistic goals?  Would be interesting to hear how others go about this.

Comments

• RatzerRatzer ✭✭✭

There are many methods for setting goals, and I use some in target and objective setting in work.  But running?  Firstly as a recent starter you won't have the background data that would allow you to judge whether your goal is achievable.  Secondly you really want to pick goals that mean something to you, so someone else's criteria might not apply.

My only advice would be to set small goals for now, until you can judge what your long term goals will look like.  A goal of time for a long run that you can work up to, or a goal of number of miles in a week, or a goal of joining a club.  Even a goal of finishing a race.  Once you have a few races to compare you can then start looking at setting a goal of time for a set distance and figuring out what you need to do to get to that.

I've hit one goal this year, but missed another.  The trick is not to let missing a goal be too demotivating.  Hence why I say small goals, one's that you know you will have to stretch a little to reach, but that aren't out of your present league.