calf muscle soreness while landing on balls of the feet

I've recently switched from heel striking to landing on the balls of my foot, which puts more stress on my calf muscles.  I've been running with this new foot mechanic for a few months now, but I still get some intense soreness in my calf muscles when I upped the distance.  I wanted to know if there are other runners out there that have made such a  switch, and how are your calf muscle handling the stress? Please help and thank you.

Comments

• Main issue is usually overstriding, ideally want foot to land near to under you centre of gravity, I know cos I did it for ages image

Other things that can cause it are carrying tension in lower legs &  pushing off.

Want your cadence about 180 steps per minute  or higher. 

Recommend get some POSE or Chi running coaching to help transition to forefoot, the immediate expert feedback will save a lot of pain in the long run

Good luck

• try to stop using them - relax your ankles when your foot lands and make sure you're picking your feet up with your hamstrings rather than pushing off as banjobx said. one of the hardest adjustments for me is not actively cushioning the landing by tensing my feet.

I'm just going through the same process as you, I've taken it incredibly slowly - might you be trying to progress too quickly? make your increases small ones for a while so your body can keep up with what is a fairly serious change.
  • wow thanks guys! I'll definitely take all your suggestions into consideration and tried to adjust my running technique. One question for Banjobax, why do I want to increase my cadence to 180 spm or higher? wouldnt that put more stress on the calf muscle? Thanks.
  • Are we designed to run on our midfoot?

Maybe, but you've spent the vast majority of your life heel striking. Your poor calfs (or are they cows!) are now expected to works in a very different range with a very different load quota.....