motivation

hey,

I know running is good for me, I know i really enjoy it, I know the feeling you get after a good run is amazing, I know it relives stress, i know it makes me happy, i know it helps maintain weight, fight off illness and is just generally brilliant.

yet i cant make myself go for a run..

thought maybe was just a bit of fatigue and gave my self a few guilt free days off.. but now just cant seem to get myself out of the door.

i know i should. i know i want to. but i just cant seem to motivate myself!!

help!

anyone else going though/been through a similar phase?

what motivates you to run...?

think i just need to put my trainers on and go for it.... but am failing miserably!

gj x

Comments

• I'm far from an expert, but

"think i just need to put my trainers on and go for it.." - isabout the measure of it.

Once you're kitted out jjust get out there and don't think about it so much before hand! One tends to build it up in yuor head as a bigger and bigger deal - just like with other things in life that we procrastinate over...

If I haven't been for a run for a 2/3 days it gets harder and harder to get out of the door, so for this reason it is more important to 'just do it' as it's not going to get easier! I tend to think of how good and proud I feel after a run, and I'm finding it has helped to have a goal to aim for such as a race in the longer term. I'm doing my first marathon later this month, but you can bet I'm looking to enter a half marathon/10km beyond that so I don't lose my motivation.

Having said all this I've found a few days off when feeling mentally fatigued from the trainnig has helped immeasurably and I've actually slightly looked forward to my run..

• I think the technical term for what you are experiecing is 'being lazy'