Virgin London Marathon 2011 First Timers

Comments

• Hi All,

Another newbie here! And another Kate. I have been running for about a year and have a place for the London marathon running for the Born Free Foundation. I ran the Great South Run on Sunday and was very pleased with my time of 1 hour 46 as 3 weeks prior to it I injured my calf muscle and could hardly walk!

I have seen a Bupa training plan which seems pretty good. I try to run about 2 or 3 times in the week and then a long run at the weekend but think I may need to up this a bit. The thought of 26.2 is quite scary but we can do it!

Hopefully we can help each other along a bit. I will be doing most of my training by myself so will need some extra suppot!

Kate

• Welcome Kate image

That's a great time for a half - I'd love to get close to 2 hours!

vds
  • Thanks vds, I wish it was my time for a half but it was only 10 miles! I ran a half in June and managed it in 2 hours 30 which I was a bit disappointed in but it was my first race!

Kate

• Oops, sorry Kate, for some reason I keep thinking that all these Great something or another runs are half marathons - no idea why.

Look at it this way though, you have suddenly moved from being scarily fast for this thread, to one of us slow pokes! Yay! and welcome again.

vds image

• This is all great for getting the motivation going although it does make it all so real and I am already getting nervous both with the fundraising and the running!

Helen that's a great idea 4 fundraising. I have already raided hubbys wardrobe for the suits he hasn't worn for ages - he does get a bit possessive about his clothes tho so I might be in trouble!

Cheryl that is a lovely story and obviously the ballot place was meant 4 u.

I am training on my own too and don't mind running in rain or cold but get a bit freaked in the dark so do use the gym for treadmill in the eve's.