100mpw

I'm training to be quicker over 10k, and I've just upped my mileage to 100 miles a week.  For anyone who's remotely interested I'll post from time to time on how it goes.

Comments

• out of interest............how many miles were you running beforeimage
  • Nick LNick L ✭✭✭

im not an expert, but I would suggest that you dont need to be doing that sort of mileage to get quick over 10k

Perhaps moraghan will be along to support me or shoot me down in flames

•  seren nos wrote (see)

out of interest............how many miles were you running beforeimage

...and  what's your current 10K PB?

This would be interesting  but we need lots more info please!

• I also take it if you are increasing your mileage to 100 pw then you are still not trying to have a 2000 calorie a day deficiency
  • Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

ahem...Mr Twatt...are you for real?

As in your last post you said the below...doesn't look to be the "casual" training you state image

"My approach to running has mellowed quite a lot over the years though.  I used to read all the physiology and training books and spend a lot of time thinking (possibly obsessing) about my training.  Now, I just have a vague plan of what I am going to do for the next couple of days, and sometimes this can change.  I think this is partly because I feel I have got to the stage where training principles have become more instinctive, but I think it is mostly because I can't really be arsed spending much brain space about whether my tempo runs should be 10 seconds quicker per mile or my rests on mile reps should be 3 minutes or 4 minutes, or whether my easy pace was slow enough.  I still enjoy running and racing as much as I used to and I can train very hard when required, so it's not a case of losing motivation, but I prefer to be more casual in my approach.