Options

Sospan Road Runners Multi-Terrain 10

I have been doing this event since 1994 - it's always been a favourite. 
The rising cost of entry is making me think again about entering. As a couple, that's £30 spend before we leave the house.
Why do we want chip timing? 
Why no entries on the day?

No showers, presentations done outside in all weathers - not exactly top notch facilities. It's always been a rough and ready club run that was extremely enjoyable. We've laughed at the naff prizes over the years - the letter opener was classic - as was the huge red fleece hat.

It's sad to see these popular races going the way of the big money spinning events. Our own race is just £7 to enter, we give T-shirts to all entrants, lovely glass trophies to the winners, and still donate over £500 of the profits to charity.

Think I will give it a miss this year - shame. image

Comments

• Options

We've had same thought - and its an extra £2 to enter online???? always thought that was the cheaper option?

we've managed to keep our race to a tenner again, and you get a xmas pud, a goody bag, free parking [another £2 here], and loads of spot prizes.

seems ott to me!

Harriercat - did you do it back in the days when it was 8.75 miles??

• Options

I'm sure the first time I did it it was under 10 - and it used to change slightly depending on logging in the forestry - hence you could never compare times year on year - you still can't, the weather can drastically alter your times. If the wind is behind you on the beach your feet don't touch the ground!

Your race has to be the Merthry Mawr!  another great fav.- my first time was in 2001. As you say, price held down at £10 - last year I had sherry and mince pie at half way too.....

I would guess that they have added the Runners World on-line entry fee to their entry fee, rather than take a hit on their entry fees.