Virgin London Marathon 2011 First Timers

Comments

• Hi all

Can I join in too? 

I've been skim reading through the previous messages on this thread. Some have been really inspiring and some of you are running for some really great causes. What happened to Geordie Nick? I welled up when I read his last post but then he stopped posting. If you're still reading Geordie Nick - good luck with the run - it's a great cause.

London will be my first marathon... I'm excited but also ever so slightly terrified. The cold weather, snow and dark nights seem to have played havoc with my motivation recently (anyone else having this problem?) but I'm planning on getting out there this weekend again. I nice longish slow run on Sunday (hopefully)!

I've run three 10ks this year and the Great North Run so it's a big step up and I'm running for Help the Hospices.

Good luck with the training everyone!!

Andy

• Hi Andy

Its my first time at a marathon and I know what you mean about this cold weather. I've been getting the wife to kick me out of bed in the mornings to do my runs. This last week i've only managed Monday morning, the rest of the time its been too dark, cold blah blah blah.

Poor excuse i know but once the snows gone i'm back out there.

I will be going out on Sunday morning for a long slow cross country run, aim to be out for at least 2 hours.

Have been looking at the training plans on here and need to get one sorted so at least i've a plan to stick too.

Andy

• Hi guys - keeping warm??!!

Decided to take Miggito's very wise advice and use the enforced running break to do some useful things, so now have a running plan (start 27th too) and a healthy diet to follow (no jammy dodgers!!) image  Good work with the champagne truffles - I managed a whole chocolate orange last week!