Virgin London Marathon 2011 First Timers

Comments

• I've been running since 1983 (done 138 Marathons/ultras) and never used a heart rate monitor or a Garmin! Just a good running watch is all that is needed (in my opinion for what it's worth).

Once you start racing you get an idea of your usual pace so it is easy to work out training run distances from that. Life's too short to,worry about the odd mile here and there!

Sometimes I think we are a bit obsessed with distances being accurate, does it really matter?

After all why do we run, for pleasure/fitness.

• Miggito - I am often like that! I am just trying really hard to be very good at the moment. Don't worry I still have a few treats just try to think before I put it in my mouth 'do I really want that?' Usually the answer is 'Yes'! image

I use the Nike plus with my ipod and I find it really good for tracking mileage and just keeping a record of my runs. It helps that I have Nike trainers so the sensor fits in easily but as it cost about £20 it is a bargain. image

Supergirl Pam - I see your point about running for pleasure and not worrying about distances but as most of us are new to all this and will be marathon virgins come April I know that I for one is totally obsessed with how far I have fun and how fast etc!! I guess with your amazing experience you know how you run very well. One day I might be like that!!  image

Did a really good speed session today and then a gym session afterwards so feeling chuffed with myself! Got my first run with my local running club tomorrow night which I am a bit nervous about. They are only running 6 miles which I know I can do but still feel nervous! image