Garmin ???

I've been running for 12 months now and feel Ime in for the long haul. I'd simply like to know the distance I cover when running without the tedious task of driving the route sometime later. Having read a few previous post the Garmin seems to be the  leader in the market. I am looking to spend as little as possible maximum of £200. Technology moving the way it does can anyone recommend a product.

Comments

• Hi Mike,

I've been thinking about the same thing  recently. I was wondering though, if i buy a Garmin in the UK will it work on all other continents? Particularly the Americas?

Anyways, you can get a 205 on amazon from £96.50 or a 305, which I believe is the same as the 205 but with a heart rate monitor as well for £104.99.

• 305 is about £100 at amazon - its brilliant
  • HI Mike,

I have a Garmin Forerunner 110...it's really good, and I got it without the heart rate monitor for £150 (grey colour version) from this website: http://www.lansonrunning.com/gadgets/speed-and-distance-watches/garmin/forerunner-110.aspx

Free delivery too image You can upload your runs on Garmin Connect. Not had any problems with it.

• KeirKeir ✭✭✭
    I have the 310xt. Love it, but it is pricey. Value for money wise, the 305 is best.  It has all the essential features and more. Extras on the better models are nice but not necessary. Having HR is really useful, even if you don't use it all the time.
  • WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I have the 405 - smaller and more "watch" looking than the 205 or 305.

It works fine in Europe, although it can take a bit longer to find the satellites.  It seems to confuse it when you move it a long way from where it was last used!

• I have a 305 and if you are only running outside then its great..but it doesnt work inside really. I like to count calories too and as this is done by distance and cadence unless your gps signal is detected it wont pick up calories

And battery needs charging quite often (i find)

FAO : CRAZYTOWN