Running and weight loss

Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie to this site so bear with me whilst I work my way around it. Just looking for some advice and opinions really. image
I'm 21 and have been running properly for around 3 years - I used to be quite overweight and as I'm only 5ft it didn't sit well (!), however now I'm a small size 8. I eat a really balanced diet, proper breakfast, wholegrains, protein, my 5 fruit and veg and a lot of water and I'm quite muscular due to the amount of exercise I do - I run 5 times a week usually 50 minutes to an hour each time, I guess around 20-22 miles a week. I'm not a fast runner but I'm gradually building up my speed.
My BMI tells me I'm 'obese' but I've always hated that calculation due to the fact it doesn't take into account muscle weight and assumes if you are short you must be very thin. I weigh 9st and my 'ideal' weight for BMI is around the end 7st mark - I'd blow away if I were!
I AM getting fitter and I've started introducing soya protein shakes into my diet which are really helping with recovery time also - It's just so frustrating that I STILL have excess fat which I simply CANNOT get rid of and I'm wondering what it could be due to. I eat around 1200 calories and I do wonder if sometimes I don't eat enough, but when I do eat my portion sizes are too large - I also wonder if I'm not fueling my body enough and it's storing fat.
Can someone tell me if I'm not eating enough? It's hard not to feel like you are over eating when you need to eat MORE for running! It's such a fine balance.
Some advice would be great.
Thanks
Sophie

Comments

• Hiya Sophie ,

5 runs a week is alot of excercise and 1200 calories a day  is too little !

Your body is  fearing " starvation mode "

I think you should take a little bit more.

Good luck x