Talkback: ASICS Super Six First Training Day: Gallery

Why are the runners running with hand held water bottles? for a short run you shouldnt need a drink and for a longer run I could think of a better hydration strategy, or is it Asics dont make hydration belts or camel backs.

Comments

• On a long run I normally have water every 3 miles and do use a Camelbak (either with the bladder or to carry a bottle as I don't get on with belts).  On this occasion there were drinks back at the track at about 4 and 9 miles but personally I preferred to carry a bit of my own to keep things the same.  Yes, it is an Asics 'donut' bottle that we were given.  I'd never tried one before as I was reluctant to shell out on something I might not use but I'm now converted and have been using it on my mid-week long runs of up to 10 miles.
  • Look at that, I asked a cynical question and got a serious answer.

Seriously though most of you look like you''re total beginners and not actually being coached by supposed proffesional trainers. Most people in the pictures are wrapped up in so many layers of clothing you would be very hot on a long run, where jackets really neccesary given that your where looping back anyway?

• its called ASICS super six so its hardly surprising the pics look like an asics advert.

maybe one of the coaches could have told the sub 5hour runner to zip up his jacket or take it off. must be annoying to run with it flapping about....
  • Yes, obviously we were asked to bring the kit that we have been given as part of the prize.  We have done rather well in that department so it would be churlish not to try it out.  My daughter asked me to fund a school trip this week using the rationale that I wouldn't need to buy any new kit for ages! (If you look at the video you may spot my rogue leggings in the afternoon)

There's all sorts of things that people are happy to wear/do while running that would drive me mad.  Jangling change or keys is my particular irritant.