Blisters :(

I am training for the London Marathon. It's my first marathon and I started training in about October. I've been working my way up to the Silverstone Half Marathon which I ran yesterday. Unfortunately I'm left with three blisters for my efforts!

It's odd because although I've had sore spots occasionally before I've never had full blown blisters. I can't figure out why I'd get blisters like that; although it was the furthest I've run so far it was only by 0.2 miles as I did 12.9 miles last weekend with no problems.

Does anyone have any ideas why they might have suddenly struck or how I can prevent them in the future? They're painful and I am worried if I run on them it'll do something funny to my gait.

I have been wearing good, comfortable Nike Air Structure Triax trainers and some Injinji mini crew toe socks which have done great so far. Should I be wearing a second pair of socks? Are my trainers coming to the end of their life? Maybe it's because I was feeling a bit under the weather and not running efficiently?

Another related problem I have is that the little toe on both feet naturally rests partially under the 4th toe. It's not ideal. I'm wondering if there's a good way of separating the toes so that I'm not constantly treading on part of the little toe...

Comments

• I recently started to suffer with blisters and found that they became painful enough to stop me training. The first thing I tried was some Twin Skin socks which initially helped the problem, but unfortunately only delayed the blisters.

Following this, I replaced my shoes, which again seemed to help for a short period of time.

Now, along with the socks and the new shoes, I am also using a Compeed Blister Stick - which is about the size of a lipstick. You rub this where you would get your blisters and it is supposed to help. For a while I didn't think it was doing anything however, I then removed the skin from the old blisters and I haven't had a problem since.