Groin advice please

Last Sunday (5 days ago) I ran my first long run (9k) after running the MK 10k a couple of weeks ago. The run was fine, but I felt some tightness in my right groin immediately afterwards. Stupidly I neglected to ice it over the next couple of days, but I did avoid my normal Tuesday night run.

By Thursday (yesterday) I was feeling OK again, so I went for a short 3.5k run. Again, the run was fine but the tightness returned as soon as I stopped. This time I have been icing it.

My questions are: should I be waiting longer before I start running again, even if the tightness is not present? Is it OK to run if I feel up to it, as long as I ice afterwards?

I'm training for the Bupa London 10000, so don't want to be out for long, but am a bit nervous after reading some groin horror stories on here. image

Apologies for the slightly noob question, but I'm relatively new to running, and have been lucky with injuries so far.

Thank you.

EDIT: I should have said that I do stretch after runs.

Comments

• 119 views and no replies, come on guys 'n' gals.

Stew, I'm no expert by any means.  All I can say is if I had a niggle then yes, i'd probably give it an extra few days of no running.  On my next run i'd probably walk for half a mile or so at a brisk pace to warm the muscles up then pick up the pace.

I would certainly continue with the stretches but take it real easy with the groin stretches.

Like I say, i'm no expert but I hope that helps and best of luck with the race.

Mick

• Thanks for the reply Mick. I appreciate your advice, expert or not, as I am new to this and didn't know what was best.

I'll take it easy for a while. I am orienteering tomorrow (Sunday) and I'd been planning to run as much of it as I could. I'll walk it now I think - it's a simple course - and see how I am after that.

I'm feeling a slight pull in my lower abdomen too, so I'm definitely going to take it easy for a while.

Steve