New to forum...just completed my first 5k race :)

Hey all! image
Im new to the forum, and I've been running for roughly 2 months now image (something i never thought i could ever do)

Just completed my first 5k race yesterday in 26 minutes. Can't believe I did it! The feeling afterwords was great! I think for the first time it feels I've accomplished something!
Cannot wait for more events now! image

Comments

• Hi Samantha,

welcome and well done!

That sounds like a very good time for a first 5k. If I do that in my first 5k in a couple of months (hopefully) then I'll be chuffed to bits.

I've only been on the forum for a week or so (this time round) and I've just taken up running again after a a few years.

I'm sure you'll get all the advice a support you need to take your running to the next stage.

• Curly45Curly45 ✭✭✭

Dont forget to check out parkrun.com to see if there's a free weekly 5k anywhere near you.

Well done on your first one down image

• You took the words right out of my mouth, curly... parkrun parkrun parkrun.

That's a brilliant time, Samantha, if you're new to it. Well done. There's every chance you will improve that by some distance as you keep going and get better.
  • Thanks everyone for the support image

Il deff check out park fun, thanks curly and peter!  I'm definitely going to do more 5k races, but I would love to do 10k

Rivvy Runner, i hope your 5k goes well when it comes round, just wondering what training you doing at the moment?  Really want to take my training up a level image

• Wow!  I've been running for years and still haven't gotten under 30!  But this year will be different.....!

Well done Samantha and thanks for the Parkrun heads-up, Curly & Peter, there's one near me....

• Hi Samantha,

I'm following the RW beginners' eight week schedule. I'm only on week two but it's going OK so far.