Indian Queens Half-Marathon

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to running!  and i love it!!! I've also decided to do the Indian Queens Half Marathon image  Are there any other's out there thinking about doing it? Would be great to chat about training and see how your getting on.  I have no idea how to train for this and I was just looking for some hints and tips.  Also i have no idea what to expect on the day and how hard it's going to be!!

Hope to hear from someone soon, just so i know i'm not alone!

Speak Soon

Karen image

Comments

• Hi Karen,

Done this race a few times, it's a nice low key run, a little off road as well but not to bad, overall it's pretty flat.

You have plenty of time to train as it's not till august so slowly bud up your long run until 2-3 weeks before, then u should be up to distance. Maybe try some other races before hand, if you are Devon/ Cornwall based check out www.tamartrotters.couk for the race diary, they also have entry forms.

Have a listen to a free podcast called marathon talk, you can download it off iTunes, plenty of good running tips for all runners on there.

Good luck
  • Hi Karen,

Just sent off my entry - started running last year, was convinced by a friend that I should do Cardiff half with her, not a lot of training - about 2 x 7 milers and 2 x 9 (hilly) milers and a couple of 3-4 milers per week either on the road or through hashing via Plympton Hash House Harriers.

Got round in 2hrs 27min (my friend didn't race!), managed to run up to mile 8 (couldnt get anywhere near that in training) then walk/ran the rest, struggled around mile 10, but really enjoyed most of it!! Of course Cardiff is know for being flat, so I think Indian Queens will be more different. Needed to have something to train for as I've only just back into running again since christmas. 

Hows your training going?

Caz

• Hi Caz