HIGH HEART RATE AT START OF RUN

I have been running for about 3 years, and using HRM for about 2 of those, so I was bit surprised when suddenly in last 3 months, my HRM has occasionally measured some really high rates at the beginning of a run.

It isn't happening everytime, it appears random, and I can't seem to pin it down to anything in particular.

I have changed batteries, checked HRM, and it seems to be functioning correctly. It's happened on various routes, even going downhill, so I don't think it's interference from anything. 

What basically happens is my HR climbs very quickly to around 220 to 240, and stays at that level from about 2mins to 7mins, and then it drops back to normal levels, around 140-150 for a steady run .

I have done max HR tests in past, and have worn HRM during races, and have never been able to get HR over 190 (191 on one occasion when I could see the clock ticking at the finish line and I was on for a pb image)

I went to see doctor recently, very embarassing turning up with graphs and charts to demonstrate image, but I was slightly concerned. He sent me for an ECG as a precaution (no issues showed up), but otherwise couldn't explain it. He wasn't too concerned, although he thought it wasn't terribly good for me.

He couldn't offer any explanation why this has suddenly started happening. His only suggestion was that it was a "warm up issue", and that I set my garmin to alert me if HR goes over 180, and stop running until to comes down again!

Does this happen to anybody else, and if so, any ideas what triggers it?

Or, is it a faulty Garmin, as was my initial conclusion!!

It's  weird

Thoughts.............

Comments

• Ian MIan M ✭✭✭
    I get similar, I think it's just that heart rate strap picking up a few false signals until the moisture content of your skin has increased.
  • Sounds almost like a poor contact ?